Anne Marie Kendall

Anne Marie Kendall QSM Born in Mokai (Raukawa Ki Waikato), Papakura resident for forty years.

Anne is the Chair for Te Hononga me Hotorua o Tamaki Trust, Chair of Whaitiaki Charitable Trust, Director Kotahitanga Limited and a Director of Otara Whanau Medical Centre.

Anne has a comprehensive range of experience in community local and central government and uses her life experiences and patience to make a success of challenges that comes her way. Anne has years of varied community and \political experience promoting women, Māori and working class policy issues.

For the tireless commitment to Iwi, Anne was deservedly awarded the Queens Service Medal for her services to Māori and the Community in 2017.

Brian Emery

Brian Emery, MA Bus Admin, has 20+ years of senior management roles with College for the Blind, PTE Te Kotahitanga Kokiri Inc, Manager of Hato Paora Hostel, Tuia Services Māori Mental Health Middlemore Hospital, Group Manager Māori Health Counties Manukau DHB, board member of Te Kupenga o Hoturoa, founding board member Te Roopu Taurima, then Quality and Risk Manager and later GM Support Services. A management consultant with MoH and Children’s Health Camps. As an auditor, surveyor, team leader for Quality Health NZ, and HDANZ he has audited 170 health organisations for quality and risk standards. Currently, he is involved with two Waitangi Tribunal claims, one as a named claimant Anne Marie Kendall QSM Born in Mokai (Raukawa Ki Waikato), Papakura resident for forty years.

Aroha Hudson

CEO and Director, HealthWEST Aroha Hudson, ACA, MBA (Ngati Whatua, Nga Puhi) is the CEO of Te Puna Manawa HealthWEST

(Est in 1993). Te Puna Manawa HealthWEST has Māori Provider Trust Status and operates as a Not For Profit Charitable Trust.

Te Puna Manawa HealthWEST provides free health, social, whānau ora and community support services especially to vulnerable communities of including Māori, Pasifika, children, young people, families and other high needs groups. Aroha has been a Board Member of Te Hononga o Tamaki Me Hoturoa, since it’s inception and is Chair, Auckland PHO and Board Member, Spectrum Care Ltd and Heart Foundation. Past governance roles include Health Research Council, Waitemata District Health Board and National Māori PHO Coalition.

Dr Semisi (James) Prescott

CPA, COP, Cert Tertiary Teaching, B.Com., M.Com (Hons)., Ph.D. Dr. Semisi Prescott is a senior lecturer in accounting and finance at the School of Applied Business, Unitec Institute of Technology. Semisi is a qualified accountant and specialises in teaching financial accounting, Management Accounting and Business Finance. Semisi is Tongan and an active member of his community. He has served on numerous community boards and government organisations and brings a financial and pacific perspective to many of the boards he serves on. As an academic, Semisi’s research area is small business sustainability with a particular focus on Pacific-operated businesses. He is a dedicated Christian and community leader with a passion for promoting positive social change.

Chrisandra Itirana Joyce (Iti)

BLS, GradDip Tchg. MEdLd (1st class honours) Ko Whakarongorua te maunga, Ko Utakura te wai ora, Ko Mataitaua te marae, Kō Ngāti Toro te mana rangatira, Nei a Ngāpuhi e tū atu nei. Iti has been involved in the education sector for the past 20 years. She has worked with the University of Waikato in research and professional development delivering professional development to school leaders including Boards of Trustees to ensure they are aware of their Te Tiriti partnerships and responsibilities. She has been involved with Waikato Tainui in ensuring their education strategic plan is disseminated and activated across schools in the Tainui rohe. She is passionate in ensuring we deliver socially just communities that reflect equity, equality, and social justice.


Te Hononga o Tamaki Me Hoturoa (Te Hononga) was formally constituted as a Charitable Trust in July 2010 as a result of a decision by the Boards of Te Kupenga o Hoturoa and Tāmaki Healthcare Primary Health Organisations to merge their entities into a single organisation.

Like it’s predecessor organisations, Te Hononga was a unique Māori-led PHO expected to service predominantly Māori and other ‘under-served’ populations. The uniqueness and philosophical intention behind the establishment of Te Hononga was to continue it’s commitment to innovation in health and to not replicate other mainstream PHO’s.

From December 2011, Te Hononga maintained a number of service contracts with Counties-Manukau and Auckland DHBs and the Ministry of Health to provide health services directly to patients domiciled in these DHB catchment areas.

As a result, Te Hononga’s ‘journey’ (along with its predecessor organisations, Te Kupenga O Hoturoa and Tāmaki Healthcare) has seen the organisation transform from two entities into one, and re-focus its operations from being a PHO to a Non-Government Organisation (NGO) Maori Health service provider.

The commitment to servicing Māori and other underserved communities has not wavered nor changed and continues to be a central tenet of the organisation.

Te Hononga is established as a Non Government Organisation (NGO) Charitable Trust with a governing trust board of five members.